Love Your Neighbor Daily

Scripture reminds us to “Love your neighbor, as yourself.” I find that many people in our world today are just loners. They do not desire, nor do they really reach out to their neighbor. Jesus also warns in the parable of the “Sheep and Goats” that “what we do for the least of these, you have done for me.” It is only appropriate to visit the sick, the shut-in, the widow, the orphan, or the imprisoned. Yet, how many of us truly do these things.

In past months we have had several who have taken ill in our church, and at least one person now resides in nursing home. I visit these people to pray with them and to offer encouragement. I often hear the same thing, ‘You’re the only person from the church I have seen.’

I recently visited one individual who told me those words. They told me how they had waved to someone from their porch, but that no one had ever stopped to say hello. Then the words which really hurt, “Pastor, I don’t think that is what Jesus had in mind when he said, ‘love your neighbor’.”

Ouch! What a strike on our busy modern society. What a blow to all of us, who are so wrapped up that we don’t even help those we call friends with-in our own churches.

In John 13:34-35 (NIV) “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

How can we ever show the world God’s love, if we don’t show love to our own church family at their homes?

Find someone you can visit, encourage, or help this week.

— Keep on the Journey with Jesus

Leave a Reply

