Don’t Forget about You

By R. Duane Cragun

I don’t know about you, but I have found that pastoring a smaller church, I stay busy most of the time. People needing you, things that need to be done at the church, lesson and sermons to prepare, it never seems to end. I have also discovered that being this busy all of the time just isn’t good at all. So with this in mind I want to share three traps we create for ourselves in ministry, and how to correct them that I have developed through experience and listing to other pastors as well.

The first is need feeding our own souls: Yes I know that we all ready and study scripture a lot, in fact possibly more than anyone else in the congregation. We study for lessons, Bible Studies and sermons. This in its self is a good thing, but I have discovered that in doing all this that I do as an under shepherd of Christ flock, I make a major error. I slack off on devotions and Scripture reading for myself. Yes, I glean from studying the Scriptures for lessons and sermon and such, but that’s not the same as just finding a few quit moments to simple pray and asked God to reveal Himself through His Word to me. After all I am supposed to also have a personal relationship with the Lord, and this is done through growing together in knowledge of Him. I cannot be an effective leader, husband and dad if I am not made strong, through the constant seeking and growing through spending time in prayer and in study of His Word. This is vital for all Christians including you!

The second is prioritizing our work habits: This is an evaluation process of what all we do, and what you really need to be doing. You as the pastor don’t need to be the janitor, not that is isn’t an important job in the church, it is, who wants to come to church that is not kept up, but others in the church should take that role, this frees you up to be working towards building the Kingdom of God, plus if we do everything, then we cheat others from the blessings of servant hood to others as well. I remember hearing Dr. Mark Gorveatte (District Superintendent of the Crossroads District of The Wesleyan Church) say that he “prioritizes what he needs to be doing, in order to be kingdom effective.”

The third is taking time off: What? I know, I must admit that while I was at my former church assignment of 10 years, I only took 7 days’ vacation during that time. And you know who suffered for this? My family and myself. We must take time away so that we can re-focus and enjoy the ones we love. This is vital for them and us, and guess what, the church will still be there when you get back. The church I was at had been there for 115 years and they did well with and without me. Take some time away, the church needs you spiritually, physically and mentally healthy.

I hope this helps someone God Bless

 

Duane Cragun

 

Leave a Reply

